midyear check-in // 2017.

it’s time to check in and see how i am doing with accomplishing my goals for this year!

2017-02-03-20-56-16
all lit up for the river. memphis, tennessee. february 2017.

cross at least 8 things off my 35before35 list. i am well on my way with this one — i saw garth brooks in concert, [sort of] joined the laid back ladies soccer league, and published a piece of writing somewhere other than this blog, all of which were pretty exciting. i’m guaranteed to cross off another four by the end of the year, and i’m plotting how i might be able to go above and beyond that.

visit somewhere new in the us. this is coming up in august with my west coast road trip! my parents and i will be driving the pacific coast highway from los angeles to san francisco [and hopefully a little beyond], so every stop other than sf will be a new-to-me locale. i am pumped about finally getting to see big sur [if they’re able to clear the landslide], and i cannot wait to drive through redwood national forest.

2017-01-21-13-09-33
this guy was great. memphis, tennessee. january 2017.

attend at least 3 voluncheers events. i did a read-to-me event at st jude in april, but the spring was so busy with programming that i wasn’t able to make it to any of the actual voluncheers events. i am hopeful, however, that i can fit a few into my schedule in the fall, and i will be continuing with the read-to-me events as well.

read 20 books. i am well ahead of the game on this, with 17 books under my belt, although my reading will slow down these next two months while i’m busy with summer conference. my favorite read of the year so far has been sister of my heart, and i am looking forward to reading another brooklyn and the answers in the coming months.

2017-04-22 20.38.31
favorite date. memphis, tennessee. april 2017.

send two handwritten notes a month. check and check. i have technically not been good about actually mailing the cards within the allotted months, but the point is that i am writing them and sending them out into the world. i love hand-writing cards, and i hope to keep up with this even after the year is out.

take my parents on a trip for their 40th wedding anniversary. i had originally planned to take them to the uk to revisit the places they had lived while they completed their fellowships, but tickets were too expensive and we all started running out of vacation days, so instead we are using the west coast road trip to fill this one in.

2017-02-10-11-32-36-1
memphis, tennessee. february 2017.

attend elvis week festivities. this one is coming up in two months, and i am so excited! i’ll have some time off from work that week, so i will be able to attend some of the weekday activities as well. there will be a full report on this come august / early september.

run 17 miles each month. this one has yet to happen, so i think it might have to come off the list. i came close a few times, but i’ve not been able to get over the hump, and with summer conference looming my running opportunities are going to be slim.

see hamilton on broadway. i bought my tickets and will be in the audience on october 5! it may only be june, but i already know this will be the highlight of my year.

how has your 2017 been so far? what are you most looking forward to in the latter half of the year?

xx

2 thoughts on “midyear check-in // 2017.

  1. Tim Blight says:

    Good on you! I was thinking just today that the year has gone so quickly so far – and look at how much has happened! I remember leaving a comment at the start of the year where I said that this year was going to rock, and I seem to remember you agreed – and it has! 😀

    Like

    1. veena says:

      It has! It’s had some ups and downs, as every year does, but I’m pretty happy with where I am, and I hope you are as well! Enjoy your summer 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

