reading roundup // april 2017.

i only got through two books this month, but that’s because i am in the middle of an almost 500-page book. scroll on to see what i read this month.

murder on the orient express by agatha christie. i somehow made it to my 30s without ever having read one of christie’s famous hercule poirot novels, so i decided to start with what is arguably the most famous one. it was a fast read, and i did not quite anticipate the twist at the end, but it was a little farfetched for me. i still think christie is a brilliant author, and i will definitely read more of her in the future // 3.5 stars

sister of my heart by chitra banerjee divakaruni. this is one of those books that gave me all the feels. i laughed, i shouted in disbelief, i cried. i ran the gamut of every emotion while reading the story of anju and sudha, and i both couldn’t read fast enough but didn’t want it to end. i don’t know how or why it took me so long to read this book, but i know it will remain with me for many years to come. this one is highly recommended and is in the running for my favorite read of 2017 // 4.5 stars

currently reading: the story of a new name, the second book in elena ferrante’s neopolitan series. i am a little more than halfway through it and am really enjoying it.

on my wish list: i think my reward for finishing the second ferrante book might be finally allowing myself to order colson whitehead’s the underground railroad.

what recent reads have caught your attention?

xx

Leave a Reply

