17in17: january.

to help maintain consistency in my running this year, i opted to make a monthly mileage goal rather than one big one for the year. in honor of 2017, my goal is to run 17 miles each month.

january got off to a slow start while i found my running rhythm again and built up my mileage while also dealing with random memphis weather and getting back into a routine. temperatures fluctuated from 60f to 20f and then back up to 65f, with rain and a bit of snow and ice thrown in, so i had to adjust my schedule accordingly. we have a free gym near our house with a few treadmills and a very small indoor running track, so i utilized that on a occasions when i couldn’t or didn’t want to run outside.

i got off to a good start at the beginning of the month, but i never quite found my groove. it’s hard to motivate myself to get up when it’s still dark outside, and it was a busy month overall, so i was only able to clock 5.97 miles for january. i am obviously disappointed that i came nowhere near my goal of 17 miles, but it did feel good to get those few runs under my belt and begin to build my endurance back up again. i’m not going to be too hard on myself, and hopefully february will bring better results.

with that in mind, i am going to start setting weekly goals for myself so that i don’t get to the end of the month and find myself needing too many miles to hit 17. wish me luck!

xx

Leave a Reply

